SDAEYC - South Dakota Association for the Education of Young Children
Together for Children
Who We Are
What We Do
Membership
Conferences/Events
Newsletters
Resources & Links
Contact Us
Home
Radio

Who We Are

clappingSDAEYC Mission Statement
SDAEYC promotes high-quality care and early learning for all children, birth through age 8, by connecting practice, policy, and research. We advance a diverse, dynamic early childhood profession and support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children and families.

SDAEYC Core Values and Beliefs Statement:
Core Values

  • Appreciate childhood as a unique and valuable stage of the human life cycle.
  • Base our work on knowledge of how children develop and learn.
  • Appreciate and support the bond between the child and family.
  • Recognize that children are best understood and supported in the context of family, culture, community, and society.
  • Respect the dignity, worth, and uniqueness of each individual (child, family member, and colleague).
  • Respect diversity in children, families, and colleagues.
  • Recognize that children and adults achieve their full potential in the context of relationships that are based on trust and respect.

Core Beliefscoloring

  • Excellence and Innovation—We are imaginative risk takers willing to challenge assumptions while being accountable to our mission and fiscally responsible.
  • Transparency—We act with openness and clarity.
  • Reflection—We consider multiple sources of evidence and diverse perspectives to review past performance, note progress and successes, and engage in continuous quality improvement.
  • Equity and Opportunity—We advocate for policies, practices, and systems that promote full and inclusive participation. We confront biases that create barriers and limit the potential of children, families, and early childhood professionals.
  • Collaborative Relationships—We share leadership and responsibility in our work with others. We commit time and effort to ensure diverse participation and more effective outcomes. We act with integrity, respect, and trust.

 

SDAEYC Vision Statement
All young children thrive and learn in a society dedicated to ensuring they reach their full potential.

 

SDAEYC Board

2017-2018 SDAEYC Governing Board
Position Name Email Address
President Jessica Castleberry info.littlenestpreschool@gmail.com
Past President Mary Bowne Mary.Bowne@sdstate.edu
Vice President Loretta Leloux Loretta.Leloux@southeasttech.edu
Treasurer Ellen Schlosser rebcschl@nvc.net
Secretary Marcy Drew Marcy.Drew@usd.edu
Member-at-Large Angie Haas Angela.Haas@k12.sd.us
Member-at-Large Fran Apland Frances.Apland@us.af.mil
Accreditation Chair Susan Ratkovsky Susan.Ratkovsky@us.af.mil
Membership Chair Alyssa Erickson Erickaly003@hotmail.com
Public Policy Chair Kayla Klein director@nhfirststep.com
Student Group Chair Sherrie Bosse Sherrie.Bosse@usd.edu
Student Representative Emily Hill Emily.Hill@coyotes.usd.edu
Black Hills Chapter of SDAEYC Collene Fletcher & Susan Ratkovsky BHAEYC@gmail.com
Dakota Midland Chapter of SDAEYC Tonya Senger Tonya.Senger@gmail.com
East Central Chapter of SDAEYC Kay Cutler & Janice White Kay.Cutler@sdstate.edu & nanna_jan@hotmail.com
Missouri Valley Chapter of SDAEYC Sherrie Bosse & Angie Haas Sherrie.Bosse@usd.edu & Angela.Haas@k12.sd.us
Siouxland Chapter of SDAEYC Loretta Leloux siouxlandaeyc@gmail.com
Capitol Connections Chapter of SDAEYC Position Open  
Dakota Prairie Chapter of SDAEYC Position Open  
© 2017 South Dakota Association for the Education of Young Children. All rights reserved.
4701 S Wassom Ave., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   Email: info.littlenestpreschool@gmail.com  Phone: 605-430-4268